Tuesday, October 3, 2023
HomeCyclingFLÈCHE WALLONNE'22: Teuns Trumps Valverde!

FLÈCHE WALLONNE’22: Teuns Trumps Valverde!

La Flèche Wallonne Race Report: As common the ultimate results of La Flèche Wallonne was determined within the final steep metres. Simply when it appeared like Alejandro Valverde was going to make historical past, Dylan Teuns of Bahrain-Victorious fought off the ‘previous man’ of Movistar off for the win. Valverde second, Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe) third and World champion Julian Alaphilippe (Fast-Step Alpha Vinyl) in fourth.

*** The total ‘PEZ Race Report’ very quickly. ***

Dylan Teuns was the strongest within the closing metres

Dylan Teuns gained the 2022 Flèche Wallonne. After a race of greater than 202 kilometres, which solely cut up deep within the closing, the Belgian chief of Bahrain-Victorious was the very best on the very steep Mur du Huy. He completed forward of Alejandro Valverde and Aleksandr Vlasov.

Beginning for the primary time in Blegny

The Route:
The parcours of Flèche Wallonne has modified a bit, for the primary time the beginning is from Blegny, a village with slightly below 13,000 inhabitants, proper between Liège and Maastricht. There’s then 115 kilometres with two climbs; the Côte de Tancrémont and Côte des Forges after 44 and 55 kilometres, however the route goes up and down constantly. At 80 kilometres the peloton tackles the Côte d’Ereffe for the primary time, 2 kilometres at 5.8%. From there it’s only 18.5 kilometres to the Mur de Huy. Between, there’s additionally the Côte de Cherave, which was changed final 12 months by the brand new Côte du Chemin des Geuses. 1.4 kilometres lengthy at 7.9%, the Cherave is rather a lot steeper, and solely 5.7 kilometres earlier than the Mur.



The long-lasting Mur is 1.2 kilometres at 10.4%, however between 800 and 200 metres from the summit, the gradients not often go under 15%. On the within of the corners it goes as much as 20%. The race goes over the Mur 3 times at 62 and 31 kilometres and the end, the final 200 metres are steep and essential.

The inexperienced Walloon countryside

At all times a favorite for any race he rides – Tadej Pogačar

Mauri Vansevenant main the peloton for Fast-Step Alpha Vinyl

The peloton on the primary climb of the Mur du Huy

The peloton had thinned a bit by the second climb of the Huy

Simon Carr of EF Training-EasyPost appeared sturdy within the finalé… however

Traditional win for Dylan Teuns

La Flèche Wallonne End result:
1. Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain-Victorious in 4:42:12
2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:02
3. Aleksandr Vlasov (-) BORA-hansgrohe
4. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Fast-Step Alpha Vinyl at 0:05
5. Daniel Felipe Martínez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 0:07
6. Michael Woods (Can) Israel-Premier Tech
7. Ruben Guerreiro (Port) EF Training-EasyPost
8. Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
9. Warren Barguil (Fra) Arkéa Samsic
10. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) TotalEnergies.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly publication to obtain updates and reminders on what’s cool in highway biking?


Most Popular

Recent Comments

error: Content is protected !!